Opening Day Banner


Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month


Lefthander Mark Cohoon has been named the Brooklyn Cyclones' 2009 Sterling Award winner, emblematic of the team's Most Valuable Player.  The Sterling Awards are announced annually, honoring the top performers at each of the Mets' affiliate levels, as well as a Player and Pitcher of the Year.

Cohoon led the New York-Penn League with nine wins (9-2), and ranked sixth with a 2.15 ERA. In a league-high 92.0 IP, he allowed 69 hits, 26 runs, 22 earned, and 20 walks, with 70 strikeouts. Opponents hit .210 against Cohoon, and he surrendered just 18 extra-base hits, while facing 356 batters.

Mark’s nine wins tied a Cyclones’ franchise record, and his 92.0 innings established a new club record. Cohoon pitched six or more innings in 12 of his 14 starts, and allowed two earned runs or less 10 times. He struck out a season-high nine batters on 8/15 vs. ONT.

Cohoon (6’2”, 195) was selected by the Mets in the 12th round of the 2008 First-Year Player Draft, out of North Central Texas College. Cohoon split time in 2008 between Kingsport (R) and Savannah (A).

Two other former Cyclones -- both of whom played in Brooklyn in 2008 -- were also announced as award winners by the Mets: 1B Ike Davis was named the Sterling Minor League Organizational Player of the Year, and OF Kirk Nieuwenhuis was named the Sterling Award winner for St. Lucie (A).

The Cyclones' previous Sterling Award winners have been:

2008: RHP Brad Holt
2007: RHP Dylan Owen
2006: OF Dustin Martin
2005: OF Joe Holden
2004: OF Ambiorix Concepcion
2003: 1B Ian Bladergroen
2002: RHP Kevin Deaton
2001: 1B Jay Caligiuri & LHP Ross Peeples

Hospital for Special Surgery
Stop N Shop